Pandora Spocks

December 10, 2010

The under-rated comic actress Pandora Spocks (1933 – 1995) wasn’t on TV often enough. In fact she only appeared in 25 random episodes of the US Sitcom “Bewitched” between 1966 and 1972. Evidentally picked to play the part of Sam’s cousin Serena due to her remarkable resemblance to Elizabeth Montgomery many storylines revolved around the other cast members confusing the two with “hilarious” results.

Over the years Serena evolved from a short-haired squeaky-voiced snob into a long-haired mini-skirted “hippy chick” . In one episode she decided to become a pop star and sang the catchy “I’ll blow you a kiss in the wind” (originally by Boyce and Hart I believe). Having just seen the clip on YouTube I’m off to look for an mp3 version. There must be one somewhere on the Interweb……

After 1972 the only further sighting of Pandora I can find was on the cover of Playboy !!

PS: (un)surprisingly it didn’t take very long to find what I was looking for. I even found someone else who found Serena’s song to be “one of TV’s greatest moments” !!!

Serena (and others) – I’m gonna blow you a kiss in the wind (and others)

PPS: Well, it amused me anyway. Next week I’ll look for the RocknRoll numbers Lenny and Squiggy used to do in “Laverne and Shirley”. Then I’ll go for a lie down in a darkened room….

One Response to “Pandora Spocks”

  1. dirigbledave@gmail.com Says:

    have a little sniff around software – there’s stuff that allows you to rip mp3s from U-tube. In the past few months I’ve managed to find a good number of very odd ancient psych tracks not available any other way – they’re set up on U-Tube but not actually videos.

    Having said – why do 60s/70s women look just soooooo good … is it use getting nostalgic about aged hairdos or just simply they were so much cooler …

    I’m off to stand outside in the snow for a while …


Comments are closed.