Warren’s Eerie No 1

April 21, 2008

In the late 1960s I was the proud (?) owner of the first 20 issues of Warren’s “Creepy” magazine. I also had most issues of “Eerie”. Eerie No 1 however eluded me. I didn’t know then that there hadn’t actually been an Eerie Number One as such. The series had officially begun with issue No 2 !!!

Due to the success of “Creepy” Jim Warren was planning a companion magazine. He heard rumours that a rival company (Perhaps Myron Fass ?) were about to launch a horror comic/magazine using the name Warren had chosen. The story goes that to beat them to the punch, Jim  Warren hastily assembled an “Ashcan” edition of Eerie No 1 containing reprints from earlier issues of Creepy. Enough copies were printed and “distributed” to supposedly secure the trademark of the title “Eerie”. 

This all seems odd to me as there had already been at least two comic books in the early 1950s in the USA and another in the UK that had used the title “Eerie”. It wasn’t until Creepy Issue No 81 when I saw this editorial that I discovered the story of the missing Eerie No 1 and that pirate copies had been produced. I admit I’ve still never seen one.

 

PS: As of March 2009 you can purchase a hard back book collecting the first six issues of Warren’s Eerie (with presumably more volumes to follow). This book surprisingly contains Eerie Number One.

4 Responses to “Warren’s Eerie No 1”

  1. Jeff Says:

    Just came across your website today. Enjoyed your little article about EERIE #1. I was one of those who was taken in by the bootleg copy in the late 1970’s, that the ad talks about from Creepy. If you wish I’ll pass along my copy to you if you have any interest. Nice website. Thank you.

  2. themagicrobot Says:

    Hi Jeff
    Thanks for the feedback and the positive response to my (currently in limbo) blog. I own most issues of Warren’s Eerie but I’ve never seen a copy of this “first” issue. Just out of curiosity which stories from Creepy does it reprint ?

  3. Alan Says:

    In the early 1970s, I was a huge comic book collector. Siver Age Marvel, Golden Age DC, you name it. I saw a copy of the bootleg first issue. I also learned that there was an original Eerie number 1 which had a slight difference. One panel in a story was omitted in the copy (or blemished) or something. It was a variation, none the less. At the time, the original was worth big bucks. Slightly later in time, even the bootleg was worth money. -Alan


  4. I’m surprised how reasonably priced early copies of Creepy and Eerie still are on eBay. That situation can’t last much longer. I’m buying the hardback edition reprints but they are quite expensive and with them only collecting 6 issues per book that will result in over 50 volumes if they reprint the lot!!


Comments are closed.