The Weird

September 5, 2008

Twenty years ago this Jim Starlin/Bernie Wrightson 4 issue mini series appeared.

Whew, its lucky that DC comics aren’t just for kids. That means I’ll be able to read these comics !! A sentient energy being appears in our dimension and eventually builds itself a human body. It is here to defeat the bad-guy energy beings. As usual, rather than explain itself it spends much of its time on earth slugging it out with the Justice League. I’m sure someone can prove me wrong but apart from the odd pin-up or cover I think this is the only time I’ve seen Bernie Wrightson (famed as he is for his horror/fantasy material) draw Superman and the JLA.  I just hope I’ve got issues 3 and 4 somewhere so I can find out what happens next. I’m only guessing but I bet the good guys win…….