Mission accomplished

September 9, 2008

Just as you can tell the age of a tree by the number of its rings you can tell how long it is since I looked at my LPs by the stuff stacked in front of them. I’m sure it all must have leaked into the house from an alternate dimension. I could see the shelf full of LPs but first I had to move 4 Betamax VCRs, 7 amps, a 1960s TV, a Radiogramme (ask your Grandparents), non-working computers, an inflatable alien, one and a half BSA motorbikes (dismantled), 4 wire wheels for a Triumph GT6, a windscreen for a Bond Equipe, 2 pre-war typewriters (heavy), an enormous 4 track reel-to-reel tape recorder (even heavier), 50 comic boxes, 38 sets of xmas tree lights (don’t ask) and a partridge in a pear tree (yes, really!).

By the time I’d reached the shelf with the records I felt like I’d climbed Everest. The mission however was a success because along with retrieving records last played 20 years ago, I also unearthed two boxes containing numerous long-unseen Charlton and Warren comics. E-Man !! Creepy No 1 !!! But I’d foolishly stacked the comic boxes in the doorway so I had to move them yet again to get downstairs to examine my haul.

