Cast your fate to the wind

November 12, 2008

shelby-flint-cast-your-fate-to-the-wind

A month of nights, a year of days
Octobers drifting into Mays
I set my sail when the tide comes in
I just cast my fate to the wind.

I shift my course along the breeze
Won’t sail up wind on memories.
The empty sky is my best friend.
I just cast my fate to the wind.

A month of nights, a year of days
Octobers drifting into Mays.
I set my sail when the tide comes in.
I just cast my fate to the wind.

Unusually it was the instrumental version as recorded by Sounds Orchestral that was the biggest hit on both sides of the Atlantic. But I still prefer Shelby’s 1966 short and sweet version of  “Cast your fate to the wind”.

shelby-flint

There were a few more vocal versions of this tune with alternate lyrics.

A month of nights, a year of days.
Octobers drifting into Mays.
You set your sail when the tide comes in.
And you cast your fate to the wind.

You shift your course along the breeze
Won’t sail up wind on memories.
The empty sky is your best friend.
And you cast your fate to the wind.

That time has such a way of changing a man throughout the years
And now you’re rearranging your life through all your tears.
Alone, alone.

There never was, there couldn’t be
A place in time for men to be.
Who’d drink at dark and laugh at day
And let their wildest dreams blow away.

So now you’re old, you’re wise, you’re smart.
You’re just a man with half a heart.
You wonder how it might have been
Had you not cast your fate to the wind…