I Want One !!

December 5, 2008

palisades-park1

Sid reminded me of the fascinating adverts in the DC comics of the 1960s. I coveted a “GI Joe” and an Iverson “Chopper” bike as advertised in the comics for years. By the time “Action Man” and the “Raleigh Chopper” bike appeared in the UK I was too old for such things. Being on the wrong side of the Atlantic ocean there wasn’t much point in me cutting out a coupon for Palisades Park but I did anyway.

aurora-ad-11

I can’t recall my Frankenstein’s Monster model ever glowing in the dark. These must have appeared later. And talking of Radioactivity, how about a Nuclear Submarine with “controls that work” for the bargain price of $6.98 !!!

nuclear-sub2

I cannot imagine what sort of missiles could be fired from this (presumably cardboard) tank.

missile-firing-tank

This “Fright Factory” stuff seems even more peculiar than the items available from the myriad of odd ads in the classified pages of 1960s Marvel comics.

fright-factory

And Marvel comics “Not Brand Echh” contained this spoof advert which actually now seems quite a good idea !!

whole-room-sized-comic-panels

