Normalman

April 25, 2009

I’m currently re-reading this 12 issue series that (scarily) I bought a quarter of a century ago. It reminds me of the good old days when things were “normal”. In 1984 (the year) George Orwell’s 1984 (the novel) vision of the future hadn’t come to pass. Now it has !!

normalman1

Normalman is special because he is the only puny person on a world full of superheroes. Alan Moore may have done Top 10 but Valentino was there first.

normalman2

I’m a sucker for comics that pay humorous homage to other comics. Yes, why did those early Atlas/Marvel comics have such thick ink lines around the cover word balloons ??

normalman6

Although Jim Valentino would go on to be involved in Image Comics and ShadowHawk/Shadowline my favourite comics of his were the three autobiographical comics he produced early in his career.

