Gutsman

Jun 19, 2009

Gutsman001

I like reading European comics whenever I come across any. I can just about get by in German. My French is very rusty through lack of use. I only know three words in Flemish and one of those is rude !!

Guts2

Luckily with “Gutsman” you don’t need to be fluent in Flemish/Dutch. “Gutsman” doesn’t have any words apart from the title. There are loads of word balloons though. These word balloons contain little pictures which describe what each character is saying. All very clever.

Guts1

Erik Kriek, the writer/artist breaks the fourth wall by including himself in the story. (I like how he often depicts himself wearing a Fantastic 4 T Shirt !!) He is even part of the love triangle between himself, Gutsman and Tigra. This love triangle turns into a rectangle when Erik gets drunk and mistakes Tigra’s younger sister for Tigra. Another odd thing is the way the parents of the two “heroes” wear matching superhero headgear even though they are plainly just normal folk. And Gutsman’s enemies are perhaps not flesh and blood at all but just manifestations of his inner demons.