Captain Britain

September 4, 2009

Captain Britain

Not exactly the cheapest book I’ve ever bought (£60 !!!) but probably the most enjoyable. Captain Britain began in the mid 1970s as another identikit hero. His origin escapes me. Was he bitten by a radioactive hedgehog or did he find the sword Excalibur leaning against a tree?? I remember being underwhelmed by his pedestrian adventures in the first run of his title (overseen from the USA).

However once he was being handled by writers and artists with imagination this great run of 47 stories from various 1980s UK titles are perhaps the equal of any superheroic antics before or since, including the late/great (soon to be resurrected) Marvelman. Perhaps if I’d got a week or so to spare I could have dug out all my original copies of these magazines featuring Captain Britain. They’ll still be around here somewhere. But it’s nice to have them all collected together in this one volume…and now in colour too……. Highly recommended.

Captain Britain back

Oh, and if you click on the above image it might enlarge enough for you to make out the original comic covers in more detail.

3 Responses to “Captain Britain”

  1. Terry Says:

    Hi, nice to see something on Cap Brit. I have all the original MWOM and Daredevils and am a great fan of A Moore. I even made a model of the Captain battling the Fury. Blimey. Also liked your stuff on Bojeffries Saga. Looking forward to the new stories.

    Incidentally did you know that the great Denis Mcloughlin used your magic robot (which also sold as a toy in Woolies) as the model for his robot in one of his Swift Morgan stories (you can see it reproduced on page 103 in Paul Gravett’s Great British Comics (pub 2006)-in bright yellow!)

    Terry


  2. Thanks for the feedback Terry. I like to wave the flag for UK comic stuff when I can. Although the “Excalibur” comics were fine in their own way they did get the Captain thrown in as if he was just another X-offshoot book. These Marvel UK adventures were certainly inventive at the time. The Fury was one of the few really scary villains.

    Further adventures of The Bojeffries Saga are long overdue. I just hope it will be Alan Moore that writes them.

    Last week I bought a new “Magic Robot” game for the princely sum of a quid from “Home Bargains”. He’s now called Magic Teacher/Professeur Magique. I preferred the old dark green robot standing in the middle rather than a portly teacher in a university cap and gown though !!

    I’ll check out “Swift Morgan”. cheers

  3. Terry Says:

    Cheers!

    Terry


Comments are closed.