Deviants

May 19, 2010

Some albums improve with the passing of the years. Here is another old LP  that, attracted by the cover, I’ve recently dragged out and am enjoying once more.

“Ptooff” was the first album by The Deviants and recorded and released on a small independent record label in 1967 . The LP was re-issued on Decca in 1969. It was in the bargain bins by 1970 which is where I first came across it !! The Deviants were catagorised as anti-establishment “hippies” though they were more like prototype punks moving in similar circles to those wacky Pink Fairies and Hawkwind people. Mick Farren was involved in the Deviants and would go on to be involved in other media such as underground comix, pop newspapers and novels and stuff.

I’ve put together a few seconds of each of the 8 tracks on the LP here. It may encourage someone to get the CD.

6 Responses to “Deviants”

  1. dirigible Says:

    “moving in similar circles to those wacky Pink Fairies and Hawkwind people” – blimey, understatement! When The Deviants collapsed, Duncan Sanderson, bass from the 2nd album, drummer Russell Hunter and Paul Rudolph (guitar on the 3rd album) were the Fairies, with drummer Twink, who was with the Deviants for a while and on the wondrous first Fairies album (which should be in EVERY record collection, as should their ‘Kings of Oblivion’).
    Hunter worked with Bob Calvert, Paul Rudolph was in Hawkwind during their second great early period, and Twink often played with them during the early free festival circuit days when both Hawkwind and Pink Fairies played almost as a team.

    Great album – “I’m coming home” and “Garbage” could be on ‘Nuggets’, “Deviation Street” quite the weirdest R+B psychedelia, and I defy anyone to describe the madness of “Nothing Man”. Their other stuff is also well worth looking out, despite rubbish production – the 3rd albums Zappa-like “Billy the Monster”, and the straight punk “Broken Biscuits” (in 1969!), Farren’s ‘Mona – the Carnivorous Circus’ with the weird Hell’s Angels conversations weaving in and out, very much a piece of its time. And especially the second album, ‘Disposable’ – the worst, but great, “Papa-OO-Mau-Mau” you’ll ever hear, the appalling, but great, “Sidney B Goode”, both to be treasured, and the wondrous tracks from the single – “Long time coming” (about second only to The Fugs “Crystal Liaison” as single of that year (or most others)) again, pure punk, in 1968!), and “Let’s Loot the Supermarket”. My dad banned me from playing ‘that foul anarchist junk’ and we didn’t have headphones back then so I had to wait until he was out to crank it up!

    Criminally under-rated band, and such an important link to punk and beyond. Oh yeah – try and find the full glory of the foldout cover to the Stable Records version of Ptoof!
    Great post, thanks – I’ll shut up now.
    Up the Pinks!!!!!

  2. dirigible Says:

    er, before I shut up, I said in ref to “let’s loot the supermarket” about cranking it up –
    that was 4 FOUR!!!!! watts on the Dansette (stereo, with second 2 watt speaker!), and like deafening man – if you stuck the speakers to your head.
    Ah, we were such cool rebels!

  3. dirigible Says:

    oh poo – I meant to say ‘What a bunch of sweeties’ should be the other Pink Fairies album in everyone’s collection – ‘Kings of Oblivion is good, but not that good.

  4. Sid Smith Says:

    Great album and I thought the recent reissue did it proud. Here’s my take on it.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/music/reviews/zvqv


  5. Thanks for the “heads up” guys. Dirigible, I bow to your total recall of names/places/stuff. And sorry I missed your review Sid….heck I hadn’t even thought to look if it had been recently re-issued on CD. I’ve forced myself to stop upgrading to CD/mp3 every LP that’s ever passed through my hands.That way madness/poverty lies….

    I never saw the Deviants live but did once end up at a Hawkwind outdoor concert by mistake. (I was on my way somewhere else but I’d hitched a lift and didn’t actually know where I was..in more ways than one…) As a teenaged gig-goer in the early 1970s I spent a lot of time in pubs where local bands played to a sub-Deviants standard rough versions of “Sweet Jane” along with much Bo-Diddley riffing or they tended to cover 50s Rock and Roll songs like the 60s had never happened. Who needed Progressive music when there was the Stooges and the New York Dolls.They even sounded good on the family (t)rusty HMV Radiogramme.

    On a totally different thought about music from the early 1970s….today I have put my New Orleans Soul head on. For the last hour I have been wondering if “In Between Tears” by Irma Thomas ought to be No 1 on that mythical best 1001 Albums of all time list…..

  6. dirigible Says:

    now you don’t really expect me to get caught up in that kind of discussion do you
    Etta James or Irma Thomas? Etta James or Irma Thomas? Etta … sod this, I’m off into the garden with a bottle of wine as the night comes in and the bats come out …


Comments are closed.