Music storage

May 29, 2010

ITEM:   I’ve just had to delete 50 albums from my 8Gb music player to make room for 50 different ones but I still return to the same songs over again. With my mp3 player in “shuffle” mode it never fails to cheer me up when this fab tune comes around. I wish I had a less scratchy version….although that just adds to its other-wordly charm I guess. “All the time in the world” by The Modds is a hidden gem.

 

ITEM:   I’m debating with myself whether I should buy a Brennan JB7.I’m sure you’ve seen it. He’s really pushing the adverts at the moment. That full page in The Times couldn’t have been cheap. I like the idea of having all my music in one accessible place but I don’t like the thought of the time it would take to put all  my CDs etc onto the 160Gb/500Gb (??) hard disc. Would I ever listen to much of it anyway?  We’ve got out of the habit of listening to music in the lounge these days. I tend to listen more in the car and enjoy Angel Baby (a Podcast) in the privacy of the bathroom. I’ll try and resist the allure of a Brennan JB7 until I’ve done some more research.. 

ITEM:   The prolific author Michael Moorcock used to write Science Fiction paperbacks faster than I could read them. His stories of alternate versions of England were great but I soon tired of the fantasy stuff like Elric and The Eternal Champion. In 1975 Michael released an LP entitled “The New World’s Fair” as Michael Moorcock and Deep Fix. Of course I had to buy it. I was going to talk about the couple of tracks on it that I’ve always liked  and the reason why “concept” albums very rarely work but was surprised to find loads of info about it on the Interweb already and that it’s been available on CD for ages. And the CD version contains a couple of demos/extra tracks I haven’t got.  I’m trying to resist buying that also.

2 Responses to “Music storage”

  1. dirigible Says:

    Looked at the Brennan last year, but if you have a sizeable collection and/or are particular about sound quality there’s a few things to think about:

    The largest drive is advertised as taking 5000 cds, but that’s at 128k mp3. If you record to a good quality 320k, then that’s around 2000 cds capacity max. 192k, which is about bearable for I-Pods, would be around 3200-ish cds, I think, but is noticeably not good on a home system. To retain full cd quality you’re limited to less than 500 cds.

    There’s a 50000 track limit to watch for too. Fine if you’re collecting old prog albums with about 6 tracks on them, but not so good for a large collection of 50s/60s pop albums or modern cds with all the extra tracks and 78 minute play time, it’ll reduce the final total of cds.

    Then there’s the actual recording time – about 6 minutes per cd means to record 35-40 a day you’re looking at 4 hours a day and 6+ weeks to copy them. I’m not sure if the way it records would add to that – I think it does something like record at cd quality, 80meg per cd and then compresses it to the chosen quality later. That’s also got to reduce capacity a bit – surely it has to have at least 80meg spare at all times in order to add cds?

    Then there’s the ever-irritating cd database issue. No matter how big the database, I’m always coming across cds that pretend they’re something else and provide you with a completely rubbish track list. Worst offenders are magazine cds like those you get with MOJO; but cheap retread compilations are also major offenders, as are re-releases; and if you’re copying from vinyl or cassette – well, you’re on your own.

    All in all it wasn’t the choice for me, but seems fine for smaller collections.


  2. Yeah I guess the Brennan is just a glorified overpriced mp3 player and obsolete already. What I need still hasn’t been invented yet. It would be a “Star Trek” scanning device that could flash a beam through the house and instantly download all my analogue/digital music onto an indestructible player with a wireless range of oh 60 or 70 miles. That should do it.


Comments are closed.