The Final Issue

August 23, 2010

I was beginning to think Overstreet was over. I’m sure in previous years the famous Comic Price Guide was released in May. The 40th edition didn’t appear until August. It seems that I’ve purchased every price guide since the 4th one. This will be the final one I bother with. It’s a perfect example of how the Internet has now completely occupied the ground once held by books and magazines.

I was sad (but not surprised) to see the final issue of “Crikey”. Perhaps they may return with some form of on-line version at:-  

http://www.crikeyuk.co.uk/

Numerous special interest magazines can no longer generate enough readers to remain viable. I wonder how many hundreds (or thousands ??) of magazines and comics I’ve seen reach their final issue. In the case of comics, sometimes there would be an announcement. Sometimes they would disappear overnight mid-story arc.

I have already given up buying CDs. My magazine habit has declined to “The Spectator” and “Back Issue”. Books are next on my “to stop” list. In fact there is still one more book I am awaiting delivery of…actually more of a luxury than a book…the Taschen edition of 75 years of DC….which has a recommended price of £135 !!

