Ajax

September 13, 2010

What’s in a name ?? T.V. Boardman’s “Ajax Adventure Annual” of 1952 was re-named “Adventure Annual” for 1953 and then became “Okay Adventure Annual” for 1955 to 1957 and finally “Okay Annual of Adventure Stories” for 1958 and 1959. Yeah, I know……. who cares ??….

2 Responses to “Ajax”

  1. Niblet Says:

    I care. I care enough to wonder why they chose the name Okay. Ajax Adventure Annual is a pretty good name. Adventure Annual is a little pedestrian but passable. I could accept a Thrilling Adventure Annual or a Super Adventure annual, but to call an annual just Okay seems like they’re not really trying.


  2. Perhaps in the 1930s when “Okay Comic” was available the phrase “Okay” or “O.K” was still considered to be a cool modern slang phrase. It’s one of those sayings that can’t be traced back to a single point of origin. Some say it comes from the Greek (Olla Kalla, meaning all’s good) or even from Scottish (a shortening of “Och Aye”). The pre-war “Gay Comics” would be interpreted very differently nowadays !! I doubt they would dare to issue a comic called “Cheeky” today either !! The Standard Motor Company always sounded to me like they made basic cars when the idea of the name was that they were the Standard to which other car companies should aspire to !! Oh, and back to comic names…I think “Clint” could be the all-time worst name for a comic I’ve ever heard of…they should have called it “Okay”……….


Comments are closed.