More small print

November 25, 2010

Looking through the December 2010 issue (Number 584) of Fantastic Four it was nice to see the return of Galactus. It was nice to see Steve Epting’s more realistic artwork (although he draws the FF to resemble the characters who appeared in the films). It was nice to see Ben and Johnny have a meal with Stan and Jack !

I’m not too sure about the new potion that allows Ben to become human for one week per year…..although it does improve his love life with Alicia ! Nor why the Yancy Street Gang have now become failed ex-Wall Street Traders/muggers. I’m not sure why they need HERBIE the robot from the 1970s animated cartoon to now be in the comics. But it was nice to see the small print saying they currently sell 48000 copies per month. This time last year they were claiming only 15000 issues per month. Although the circulation figures for comics are nothing like they were perhaps the “floppies” will still be around for a few more years.

4 Responses to “More small print”

  1. dirigbledave@gmail.com Says:

    well .. there’s a number of issues flagged in one small post. I’ll stick to a couple close to heart. Thanks to your post I checked out the once-Fantastic-Four just once more (though hands-up I downloaded it – I am I must admit firmly in the non-buying unless I enjoy. Though in mitigation, yer honour, if I like it, I then badger my local shop until I get a hardcopy. That issue I will buy.

    The Stan and Jack panel was quite simply a stroke of genius homage, as was much of the issue. Bodes well for the future instead of ******* zombies? Interestingly, the non-Ben pages weren’t quite the stuff, although it’s nice to see the revival of the SM/Sue thing, although streets ahead of anything Marvel did for years.

    But if you strip that out, you have superb nods to classic FF and classic Ben Grimm.
    – Ben and Alicia feeling as they did the first time they met but in reverse as to how she saw him.
    – almost a mirror of the trust values in the first meeting of Silver Surfer and the FF
    – a similar Galactus appearance

    but most of all, the Yancy Street Gang. As far as the FF are concerned, leaving aside the classic Galactuse, Forbidden Zone et stories of the early years, most of the best ever FFs have been the left-fielders — Impossible Man, Willie Lumpkin and the Yancy Street tales (without looking it up, the Ben Grimm ‘It happened on Yancy Street’ (title?))

    Like the Sandman/Spiderman story in STU when Sandman stopped being a criminal – thoughtful and somehow real.

    As for sales – being a fiend for 60s comics trivia and indicia the thought is “how the ****** do they make money” – is it simply a long punt for franchise? There’s no way a normal print title would acccept such numbers. Good Grief – I’m sure that even the most obscure US magazine sells more than the FFF – and that means Ninja Knitting, Palin’s Views of Russia and loads of gun magazines dedicated to their lizard relatives.

    Duck


  2. Don’t know why your comment was held in moderation Dave as you’re the only regular commenter this blog has left. Today I “celebrate” the 175000th “click” on this blog. Although that may be 174999 more than I expected I’m sure that most of those visitors shake their heads and quickly move on.

    I have been shaking my head and moving on from Fantastic Four comics for many years now. It seemed a shame that such a great concept was being handled so poorly. The latest writer/artist to tackle the book show at least some understanding of the rich history of the comic. (Unlike The Avengers which is totally ruined by the inclusion of Spiderman and Wolverine).

    I remember the Sandman/Spiderman story. Wasn’t there a similar one where Ben Grimm met an “off duty” villain in a bar ??

    • dirigbledave@gmail.com Says:

      can’t remember the exacts of the Ben and a villain in a bar, but you’re undoubtedly right snd I’ll find it.

      been looking at the number of Marvels I’ve picked up regularly since 1993. Falling into rough categories:

      1) because I’ve always followed them and am still willing to:
      Doctor Strange (I’ve got everything ever and bought Strange Tales when it first came out)
      Captain Britain and MI13
      Deathlok
      Blade
      Guardians of the Galaxy
      Immortal Weapons
      Agents of Atlas
      most Captain America material from the past 5 years

      2) because they’re wonderful works of art:
      The Torch
      Marvels
      The Heroic Age series

      3) because they’re just out there great comics:
      Lockjaw and the Pet Avengers
      and especially – Hit Monkey

      that’s a sad bunch for 17 years of comics really, and probably worth some sort of analysis. To be honest, as the kids don’t care and people our age are picking savagely, how on earth can the Marvel market suvive?

      Best go – there’s snow falling on the post!


  3. There are many people who “wait for the trade”. (Whatever do Americans mean by “trade” anyway…they’re not trade price…I call them “books” !!). But if the floppies go there won’t be batches of six comics to put in these collections.

    I still buy too many comics. I Buy a few Marvel comics but more often than not I don’t even bother reading them these days. I pick up random books just to see if I’m missing anything. I guess that having reached the grand old age of 5_ the damage has now been done to my psyche and it’s too late to stop now. I think I’ve become like Pavlov’s dog and continue in the vain hope that I will be rewarded with a good story. I enjoyed The Twelve (which abruptly disappeared) and The Agents of Atlas. Daredevil/Thor/Iron Man/Avengers etc do nothing for me. I hope the FF will prove worth persevering with.


Comments are closed.