Turn that racket down

March 9, 2011

Can anyone point me in the direction of “Wall of Noise” by Doctor Mix and the Remix ?? The original LP from 1979 and the CD re-issue from 2003 both seem to command in excess of £40. I don’t need it that bad.

However having just re-discovered three tracks from the album in glorious muddy mono on an old mix tape I have a sudden urge to hear the rest of it again. I’m pretty sure I owned the LP once. It was probably in that stack of records abandoned at an ex-girlfriends a lifetime ago. That would also explain what happened to all my Dylan/Stones/Pink Floyd LPs.

Apparently Doctor Mix and the Remix were from France and also went by the name Metal Urbain. The tracks from 1979 I’ve been listening to today still sound pretty modern to these (admittedly old) ears. I’m sure their buzz-saw drones inspired the likes of Suicide, The Jesus and Mary Chain and a host of the more electronic UK bands of the 1980s. I’ve just been playing this loudly and for the first time for a very long time heard a voice from the kitchen call “Turn that racket down!”.

4 Responses to “Turn that racket down”

  1. David Simpson Says:

    Hi

    I still have the Dr Mix single of No Fun, bought at the time and still listened to with much pleasure. Your post here sent me spinning off through the internet looking for Dr Mix info, where I found out that they spun off from Metal Urbain. Thinking laterally, I had a look at Metal Urbain reissues, to find that the three disc set Metal Urbain: Anthologie 1977-1979 includes an entire disc of Dr Mix recordings, which I assume is analogous to the contents of Wall Of Noise.

    Cheapest price I’ve found is at HMV (http://hmv.com/hmvweb/simpleMultiSearch.do?searchUID=&pGroupID=0&adultFlag=false&simpleSearchString=metal+urbain&primaryID=0 to be exact, or a search on Metal Urbain Anthologie will do it).

    Thanks for this post — I’ve just ordered Anthologie, and wouldn’t have known about it otherwise.


  2. Thanx muchly. Looks like they’ve now sold at least two copies. I should have used lateral thinking in the first place shouldn’t I…Three CDs and a poster for a tenner and instant gratification is better than faffing about with bits of torrents !!!

  3. dirigbledave@gmail.com Says:

    Just a small correction …. Suicide were about in the early 1970’s – so early that the New York Dolls supported them. Listen to ‘Ghost Rider’ or ‘Cheree’ off the first album, and you’ll see where the pulse-drone of the Metal Urbain stuff came from.

    I can remember being absolutely floored when Peel played ‘Paris Maquis’ the first time. Raved about it for months, it was a close favourite to The Normal’s ‘Warm Leatherette’, which came out not long after.


  4. Ah well, even Suicide sound modern to me.Perhaps I’m thinking that it was the early 80s when I actually got round to buying their first album. In our current space/time of so much music from so many eras everything blurrs.

    I have to hold my hand up and say I never liked “Warm Leatherette”. A repetitive riff is ok but repetitive vocals no….

    PS: Today’s musical search is for items by The Legendary Stardust Cowboy and April Stevens !!


Comments are closed.