Turn your radio off

April 23, 2011

Try as I might I can’t find much worth listening to on the radio. I was hoping that having now replaced the crumbling cloth mains lead and warmed up this old radio that perhaps the valves might have retained some Jack Jackson from the Light Programme. As most of his 1960s shows were pre-recorded rather than broadcast live I hope the tapes are still safely stored in Broadcasting House but I somehow doubt it. And I can’t find much of his output on the internet either. Meanwhile, tuning up and down the dial in the here and now of 2011 if I listened for the next twenty years there wouldn’t be two consecutive tunes that I actually liked. Even BBC Radio 7 has gone. 

PS: I see that the “Lux and Ivy’s Favourites” series has now reached volume 15. Get yours now ! Although not all of the 300+ tracks are essential there are usually a few life-enhancing tunes on each compilation. I think I’m going to make myself a “Favourites of Lux and Ivy’s Favourites” file !! One day in the not too distant future I’m sure all the free “Cyberlockers” like Rapidshit will be closed or curtailed by the authorities and all music will be i-priced so don’t say I didn’t warn you.

PPS: Another musical mix that ought to be in everyones collection is the 59 minute long DJ Food – Raiding the 20th Century Words & Music Expansion (starring Paul Morley and a cast of thousands). Still available all over the Internets for free while stocks last.

4 Responses to “Turn your radio off”

  1. Niblet Says:

    Was Jack Jackson the DJ who used to edit comedy records into his show, to make it seem like he was talking to Hancock, Steptoe etc?

  2. David Simpson Says:

    BBC Radio 7 isn’t gone, just renamed BBC Radio 4 Extra (see http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio4extra/ for the station website, and http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio4extra/help/retune/ which gives instructions on how to retune your digital radio, if necessary)


    • I wonder how much they paid the ad agency to come up with that new name ??

      The valve radio doesn’t do digital. The dial lists such “exotic” stations as Kalundborg, Rennes and Limoges.


Comments are closed.