Post early for Xmas

December 1, 2012

Ripley’s Belive it or Lump it dept:      Every day the world generates 15 petabytes ( 15 with 15 zeros after it) of new data, equivalent to the data contained in a million copies of the entire Encyclopedia Britannica, according to IBM. Here are my bytes to add to the heap.

Something for the weekend dept:      In May 1967 I bought this. I think I might read it again for the first time in 45 years (!?!) this weekend. Perhaps you’d like to read it too?

Image

I wish I was organised dept:      I downloaded this tune earlier this year and forgot to make a note of the band’s name. I couldn’t even make out what language they were singing in.

So I’ve just made a concerted effort and discovered that the tune is by a 1960s/1970s Cambodian singer/band by the name of Yol Aularong. He/They have a couple of other tracks available on UTube but this one is still my favourite. It cheers me up every time it comes around on “shuffle” on my mp3 player.

I don’t like W H Smiths dept:      When I think of all the money they have had from me over the years….. I’m going to do my best to give them much less next year. They have deteriorated over the last few years. The nearest store to me is really gloomy with narrow isles and stuff set out haphazardly. You can’t place your purchases on the counter for clutter and almost-date-expired “half price chocolate”. The magazines are crushed together. They don’t appear to stock the new UK Batman or the little Book Collector Magazine. I found some “Commando” issues hidden behind comics for 5 year olds. I gathered a stack of magazines and queued for 10 minutes. My purchases came to £24. The conversation then went something like:- “Do you want a bag?”. “Not if you’re going to charge me for one!”. “They’re only a penny.” “I don’t care. There is a principle at stake here. I’ve just given you £20 and thousands over the years. Surely I deserve a crummy bag.” “I’m sorry you feel like that. We’re trying to save the environment”. “How does giving you an extra penny save the environment?”

On a previous visit to the same shop after being pestered once again to buy their half-price chocolates I was presented with a free copy of The Times. I politely declined and asked if I could have a free copy of The Sun instead. “I’m afraid not. What’s wrong with The Times?” “I already have that delivered. So rather than a free copy of The Times can I have a free bag instead? ” “No”. I had to stuff my magazines inside my jacket and go out into the driving rain.

I like Elizabeth Montgomery dept:      One xmas present to myself this year will be the box set of all 8 seasons of Bewitched. A bargain at 50 quid for 254 episodes.

Every blog has its day dept:    Blimey. It’s time for the winter Podcast already. I’m sure there must be worse ways to spend an hour. The links are in the “comments” area below.

oh…and PS…..

Happy Holidays

One Response to “Post early for Xmas”


Comments are closed.