How much?

October 1, 2014

Whilst I was buying the “Far out at sea” book from Amazon I noticed this. There seems to be a growing trend of people trying to get outrageous sums of money for pretty average merchandise. Perhaps they hope someone will be browsing late at night and be too blind drunk to notice the price? If I could sell a few items from my bookshelves at those sort of prices I’d have enough spare cash to start my own offshore radio station…..

Offshore radio

Offshore Radio Board book – 1 Dec 1974

by Gerry Bishop (Author)

1 Used from £2,499.50
1 New from £2,499.50

1 customer review

HOW much? Review by LM on 2 Sep 2014

“I’m giving the book four stars for its quality. My only gripe about the book is that there’s no chronological index.However, as to its Amazon listing…
As I view this page on September 2 2014 the book is priced at £2,449. That is freaking INSANE. Yeah, I know it’s quite rare nowadays, but I’m pretty sure if you wait long enough you’ll find a copy on eBay for a fraction of the price. So unless you’re a recent lottery winner, or unless you’re reading this at a time when the price has dropped to something more reasonable, I suggest you just have a damn good laugh at this page.
Was this review helpful to you?” Yes No

vic

PS: And suddenly everywhere I look people are out to con me. There are 22 people parting with their 1988 Victor Annuals for pees and one clever-dick who hopes for substantially more. I know they say “Caveat emptor” but I really think Amazon ought to put a stop to these sharp practices before their image gets too tainted.