More Giant Holidays

January 1, 2016

The Giant Holiday Fun Comic Album

A while ago (jeez, it seems it was actually back in August 2010) I mentioned Mike Higg’s giant 288 page compilations the “Giant Holiday Fantasy Comic Album” and the “Giant Holiday Adventure Comic Album”. There were actually two more books in the series published in 1989 and ideal for taking with you on holidays giant or otherwise. It’s only taken me five years to remember that I’d quite like to read the “Fun” album which contains, amongst other delights, many pages of the absolutely bonkers “Queen of the Seas” along with Mike’s legendary “The Cloak”. The stories in the girls album have dated less well. Both are let down by cheap paper and poor printing. However as they only cost me one penny each (plus £2.80 times two postage) I can’t really complain. In fact, when I looked yesterday there was another “Fun” album still available for a pee. I think you should buy it now!

Queen of the Seas

The Cloak

The All-Girls issue has slightly clearer printing as it appears to consist mostly of stories enlarged from pocket books of the late 1950s and 1960s.

The Giant All-Girl Comic album