No replies since

January 1, 2017

Although I only post stuff once a month I still find myself checking in here fairly regularly to see if I’ve had any comments. I don’t know why I still do this. The site only received three or four comments throughout the whole of last year. It seems I’ve even lost the few regular visitors I once had. I guess I didn’t make the site entertaining enough. Or perhaps they’re all either too old and jaded to care or even dead and gone? Visitor numbers fluctuate daily between 20 and 120, but if I look at the odd words they typed to actually stumble across my site you have to wonder if Google and the others are actually random-word-generators rather than proper search engines.

1

Anyway as I’m bored with my own words yet still logged in to WordPress.com I sometimes visit the Support Forums for something to do before I switch the laptop off and go and read a book instead (far more sensible). It amazes me how unwilling people are to look at support documents or to read any instructions. It amazes me how quick people are to shout and complain. They have signed up for a new site 30 minutes earlier and are already announcing that it is far too difficult for them. If there aren’t many staff or the usual gang of volunteers around I may reply to a few questions. I’ve had a free website here for years so it’s one way of giving something back. 75% of the time my replies are met with silence. Either they’ve never bothered to return to see the answer to their questions, or the reply helped them but they still couldn’t be arsed to say thanks. Sometimes I get it wrong. But more usually a few moments research into the question makes me more knowledgable about how the Interweb works at the html level.

The Internet is responsible for people now expecting instant solutions. “My (new….empty of content…) site is online (all of 15 minutes ago) so why can’t I Google it?” is a regular question. Why would Google want to index an empty site? “Why can’t I change the default title/settings of the theme?” etc etc. A surprising number appear to have the misconception that they will be able to fill their (new….empty of content…) site with adverts and instantly become Interweb Zillionaires. Differences between WordPress.com (here) and self-hosted WordPress.org sites is another constant confusion.

The irony is that now just as I’m beginning to get the hang of blogging (only took ten years) I’m also getting closer to the point (again) of finishing with it.

12 Responses to “No replies since”

  1. Dave W Says:

    I have been reading your blog for a few years now – mainly for the wonderful comics trivia and oddities, but I also get enjoyment from some of your blogs about TV, vinyl etc

    I must admit though that in recent months I’ve found fewer things of interest to read here and I assumed that you were maybe losing interest or perhaps bringing your blog to a close. I hope that does not happen.

    I’m not at all interested in pirate radio, but I do have a question to ask you. In the late Seventies I was briefly acquainted with a (former?) pirate radio DJ by the name of Jon Langston from Benfleet in Essex. He was in his early forties then, married with several children.
    I remember him as being a little eccentric and wonder if you knew of him.

    Anyway, a Happy New Year to you. I’m going to continue reading your blog for as long as you produce it – but how about increasing the frequency to keep your audience with their regular fix.

    Best
    Dave


  2. Thanx for the comment…Any comment…. even if it’s to remind me that you’ve found fewer things of interest of late 😦 And today I’ve just deleted 40 half-started/draft posts about subjects with nothing to do with comics or offshore radio. Damn! Actually comics and offshore radio fans in the early 1970s comprised of such a small group of like-minded people that I sometimes bumped into the (then unemployed) Alan Moore and via a friend-of-a friend Jon Langston. I presume this is who you’re talking about http://www.bookamook.com/kaleidoscope/profiles/john-langston/ in the days when I was a daft enough “anorak” to visit the Mi Amigo.

  3. Niblet Says:

    I’m still reading and enjoying your blog. I was attracted to it by the posts about comics, but the other quirky stuff is also interesting. However I must admit that I don’t listen to the mixtape posts partly because, unless I’m missing something, there’s no details of titles and artists (but to be honest even if there was, I probably still wouldn’t listen). Anyway, thanks for all the posts – as long as you continue posting, I’ll keep reading.


  4. Hi Niblet
    I’m pleased you still pop in now and again. I do the same to your site as it makes a light-hearted change from most of the other doom-laden comics-orientated blogs. I’m sad you avoid the mixtapes as they are my favourite bits and the only reason I’ve kept this site going nine years. I’d love to put a track listing (and an essay about why that particular track is so important to C20th music..or not) but I don’t want to get arrested.
    PS: I bought some 1977 “Krazy” comics the other day from an “Antique” (more like junk) shop. So Cheeky featured there before presumably being promoted to his own comic.

  5. kudubundu Says:

    Not dead yet! I still manage to check back in from time to time. Keep the blog going as I always find something to interest my weary brain. I also enjoy your mixes and the eccentrically fascinating musical selections.

    Look forward to another year of Magic Robot! Dave Roberts.


  6. just left a thank-you on the help forum, as you were able to provide an answer for me via someone else\s questions, which has led me to your site… loads more to read

  7. JenT Says:

    Sensibly, you don’t have the ubiquitous Likes turned on on your site, but I did like this post very much. I hear(t) you about the lack of follow up responses in the forums. It’s been that way for years and I’ve always wondered why that is.


    • I’ve never understood the point of “likes”. Just a shortcut for people who haven’t got the time/patience to use actual words. And I’m far too old to get involved in any of the other “platforms” such as Facebook/Instagram so I’ll stay right here at WordPress for as long as they’ll let me.

      PS: Thanx for taking the time to visit my little corner of the Interweb.

      • JenT Says:

        To me, Likes are a generational thing. I would rather read fewer sites and interact with them than spend my time speed reading through dozens and “liking” them all. But WPcom has to keep up with modern times, modern ways. I’ll stick to mine. My pleasure. See you ’round the forums!

  8. Daniel Says:

    This is a great blog. I hope it stays around a long time. I’ve had it bookmarked for maybe 10 years. Visit only monthly but it’s always a refreshing sojourn. Thank you.

    Waaay back when I was a teenager (in the late ’50s) I had a collection of maybe 75 EC Comics (Tales From The Crypt, etc). Loaned them all to a “friend” and neither were ever heard from again. Wonder how much I lost in todays $$$ ???

    Also I wonder, how is a blog “inherited” or willed to a survivor(s)? Maybe one should set up a Trust to preserve and perpetuate it once the founder croaks. Will anyone care anyway?


    • Hi Daniel and thanks for the feedback. If I want to bring myself out in a cold sweat I recall the time in 1973 when I sold ALL my early Marvel comics (Spiderman No1, Daredevil No1 etc etc) for a pittance. Although at the time the cash was very much needed to finance a trip to Europe. 75 ECs today would probably cover the cost of a new car.

      You make a valid point about the Internet and mortality. Traditional stuff like Wills and Inheritance hasn’t caught up with new technology. At work I’ve put a folder in the safe with passwords for the umpteen online accounts I’m responsible for like VAT Tax, Fleet Insurance, Trade bodies, the list is endless. The trouble is you have to keep it up to date. I’ve done a similar thing for personal stuff.

      WordPress doesn’t delete sites even if they’ve been dormant for years. There is always the danger that a point will be reached when half the Interweb is full of OLD stuff. Perhaps Google will put a date limit on search results then to filter out the older garbage that is still online.

      If you want to see an Internet graveyard visit the Wayback Machine where old versions of sites are available. Amazon 1995 looks positively stone-age. Mine in 2008 was as basic as the theme templates then available. It actually cheers me up to think that this site may live on after me. One day there will be Websites dedicated to talking about/analysing old Websites. There’s a scary thought.

      cheers


Leave a Reply

