More Fantastic Tales

June 1, 2017

If I needed confirmation that I have TOO MANY COMICS here it is! A couple of years ago I pointed out the oddness of a couple of Thorpe and Porter comics from circa 1962/1963. Fantastic Tales No 8 and Fantastic Tales No 10 both sport identical cover images! The question was, were the whole contents of both issues identical too???

At the time I only owned issue No 8. I have recently acquired issue No 10, but am still none-the-wiser! Of course I’m unable to find issue No 8 (It’s within one of two hundred boxes). And stupidly I never thought to list the contents of that issue (or even open it, let alone read it!).

So, just for the record this is the rubbish/bonkers stuff that appears in issue No 10.
The Greater Evil
Bells and Noises
My Strange Godfather
The man who wasn’t there
Doctor Marlin’s menagerie
Annals of the Occult
The strangeness of Mr McGillicuddy
More Annals of the Occult
The Booster shots
Return of the Pequod
Yet more Annals of the Occult
The Old Man

Most of these black and white reprints were originally presented in ACG’s Forbidden Worlds 58 and Adventures into the Unknown 88 both cover dated September 1957. There were a couple of Charlton tales too. One whose origin I can’t identify and one which originally appeared in Out of this World 3 cover dated March 1957. (Oh, and I  mustn’t forget the adverts for T&P Classics Illustrated comics, sand-kicking Charles Atlas and Thorpe and Porter Western paperbacks).

Leave a Reply

