White Boy

Aug 8, 2008

The duo of Jake Whipp and Mr OTT recorded this in Washington DC in 1977. It is supposedly the second punk record ever recorded there. It doesn’t sound like what I call punk (Sex Pistols, New York Dolls, early Stooges, Sonics etc etc). The fact that it was released on their own label and limited to 1000 copies with a track about “puke” makes it punk I suppose. Having owned it for 30 years I thought I’d better actually play the thing. Here is proof that the Internet has finally achieved its aim and become the source of all knowledge on the planet no matter how obscure. I idly Googled for the single not really expecting any hits and found this blog discussing this very same record and this site  devoted to all minor bands that gigged and recorded in the Washington DC area in the 1970s and 1980s. They don’t let you hear many of the records though.

 I Could Puke