Increase your wordpower

Sep 1, 2023

I do the Times Crossword daily…….the easy one, not the cryptic. I don’t always complete it but when I check the answers the next day I usually recognise the word/words I couldn’t bring to mind the previous day. Recently I came across a word I had never heard of. The clue was “the ups and downs of life”. The answer was vicissitudes. I have managed to go through life never hearing that word or ever seeing it in print. I now need to find a way to use the word in conversation and see if it is just me who is ignorant or if it is one of the growing number of words we used regularly in the past but have now fallen out of favour.

2 Responses to “Increase your wordpower”

  1. Richard Collier Says:

    I think it does actually mean ups & downs but you rarely hear it used to refer to the ups. I’ve always used it refer to the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune i.e. the downs rather than the ups.

  2. Richard Collier Says:

    BTW, if you can get it, I recommend the Metro cryptic crossword. It’s tough without being completely impossible. I usually get all bar one or two clues, which is perfect, I think.


Comments are closed.