Superman 2021

Dec 1, 2021

This story appeared in Superman No 372 in 1982. I’m not sure Bob Rozakis got the timeline quite right. So the original Superman retires circa the year 2000. His son (born when? After 1982?) retires aged approx 38 to be replaced by his own son?

Did they really think that in a mere 40 years we would have advanced enough to have floating cities. Why would you want a floating city anyway? What sort of power would be expended keeping it up there?

I agree that there should be flying cars in 2021. I read the Jetsons comics in the 1960s (never saw the cartoons on my TV back then) and vowed to live long enough into the future to own a flying car just like George’s.

I think the Interweb is a better idea than edited highlights of the news projected on to the dome. Bob almost got it right with his Photophone though.

PS: It seems there are other stories about Superman’s Grandson set in 2021 but written in 1982. I must track them down to see what they thought today would look like from the perspective of 1982.