Alan Austin

Oct 1, 2021

People of a certain age (ie: me) bought comics from (and sold comics to) Alan Austin in the 1970s. I think he’s right that there were probably only a couple of hundred “serious” comic collectors in the UK in the early 1970s and his mail order lists were received by many of them. He was perhaps the first full time comic dealer here in the UK, starting at a very young age, but later moved away from comics into the book trade. But he kept a love for comics eventually writing this little book about his early years. Recently published four years after his death it is a fitting tribute to a nice guy.

I can’t say I totally agree with his assertion that adults only collect the comics they recall from when they were children. Yes I recently purchased Wham number 1 out of nostalgia but have no desire to revisit the 100s of Beanos and Valiants that came through the letterbox weekly. I think Marvel and DC comics from the 1960s onwards grew up as their readers did.

Alan Austin 1955 – 2017

5 Responses to “Alan Austin”

  1. Ian Baker Says:

    Thanks for the plug for Alan’s book. My pal Nigel Brown put in a lot of work getting it ready for publication on Alan’s behalf and it’s heartening to see so many comic collectors from those heady days in the 70s responding to it. Alan was a quiet unassuming man who probably had no idea how much he was looked up to by subscribers of Fantasy Unlimited in those early days.


  2. Hi Ian
    Yes there’s still a few of us left. I attended numerous Comic Marts in the 1970s. Lyndhurst Hall in Camden and later Central Hall Westminster if memory serves and you got to know the same faces that were always there either selling or buying. Long before the Interweb buying comics meant interacting with actual human beings.
    I should have kept all those early fanzines I read from cover to cover. Heck, if I’d kept all the comics that passed through my hands then I’d now be living in a bigger house.
    Still I didn’t think at the time that the 1960s and 1970s would be as good as it got with no cares or responsibilities. The real world took over for decades.
    Thanks for taking the time to comment here. I will be checking out your blog

  3. Mike Cable Says:

    Alan and I were school friends (Raines Foundation Grammar school) and he had many other skills in addition to his expertise in and knowledge of comics. He was a fine, strong rugby player and one of the quickest 200 yard runners in the school. He was also academically highly intelligent and his teachers tried hard to dissuade him from leaving school before his A levels (in which he would have fared very well) to pursue his interest in comics. I spent many days fishing with him (yes, he used to fish!) and listening to various genres of music, which he loved. I even helped him collate his niow famous comic price guide and fanzine. I met him a few times in later life when we lived in the same part of Essex but lost touch as our lives took separate directions. I was very upset when I heard of his passing. He was a fine, caring person, even if he did once thump me for firing an air rifle at his bedroom window! We lived close to each other on the Isle of Dogs when living with our parents.
    I’m delighted he was well respected in his chosen profession of book and comic dealing. He was a good friend and I value the memories of our times together.


  4. Hi Mike
    I only interacted with Alan regarding comics many years ago now but there is always so much more to people than their hobby/business so thanks for adding that.

  5. kudubundu Says:

    His book is a fascinating insight into his life. Very entertaining too. Highly recommended as is the follow up memoir. PS still enjoying Magic Robot. Good to see the blog continues!


Comments are closed.