Crikey!

Nov 4, 2008

Blimey! The last thing I expected to see back on the newsagent’s shelves in November 2008 was new UK versions of the classic “Classics Illustrated” comics.

classics1

classics1back

cloak

Crikey! Of course you have to go to a “proper” comic shop to find this magazine. The editors have been busy in the “Crikey” shed but still you never know when the next issue will appear. Its not even listed in “Previews”. Therefore comic book fans in the States will find it difficult to locate this magazine all about the numerous bonkers UK comics of the past unless they subscribe. www.crikeyuk.co.uk/ . 

crikey71

And you’ll only see this comic if you happen to be in France or Belgium. “Le Max de BD” refers to “bandes dessinee” (drawn strips) which is French shorthand for “comics”.

lanfeust2

There are many more French/Belgian comic book characters besides the few like TinTin, Lucky Luke, The Smurfs and Asterix who have already successfully crossed the English Channel. Although this is only issue No 2 Lanfeust himself has been around for a number of years. A fantasy set on the planet Troy where most of the inhabitants have magical powers it is full of humour and adventure. (Troy is the third planet orbiting the sun in its solar system..hence the “pun” of Troy/trois/three.) The art is quite good too.

lanfeustpulp

6 Responses to “Crikey!”

  1. Dave White Says:

    I was surprised to learn here of the Classics Illustrated revival. I did buy a few of these during my 1960s-period comics obsession but I can’t recall too much about them now. I wonder what sort of readership they’ll reach these days?

    Thanks to you I was also pointed in the direction of Crikey! magazine, of which I was previously unaware. I ordered a copy of the first issue and it looks like an entertaining read.

    My copy of Eerie 23 arrived from the States safely, beautifully packaged for secure delivery. The Frazetta cover still looks good to me. As you suggested elsewhere, the inside artwork would have looked good in colour. And while on the subject of Frank Frazetta, I was reading in the latest issue of the excellent Asimov’s Science Fiction magazine that there’s a new book featuring some of Frazetta’s art (though he’s about 80 now and in ill-health so it’s not new work but lots of previously unpublished stuff, if I’m remembering this properly).

    I’ve been bitten by the sci-fi bug again in that I’ve started reading Fantasy & Science Fiction magazine, Asimov’s magazine and have just order a copy of the latest double-issue Analog. I have a UK supplier for all these so it’s quite painless and very easy to get my fix in the form of new editions and back issues. PayPal is a wonderful thing!

    I enjoy my regular visits to your pages.Keep it up!

  2. themagicrobot Says:

    Eerie 23 is ideal for sticking in a frame and hanging on the wall (despite the painting being rather dark).
    On the wall of my office at work I currently have a framed copy of Lois Lane 54 looking down on me. Its a particular favourite and one of those wacky early 1960s Superman comics. Beside it there is an autographed Monkees record. (But it only has the usual three signatures.)

  3. Dave White Says:

    Why only three signatures?

  4. themagicrobot Says:

    100 years ago I was a big Monkees fan. In fact I became an even bigger Monkees fan (long story) in the mid 1980s (100 casette tapes of live concerts etc etc in a box somewhere ) when they reformed. Nesmith (the one with the “wool hat”..) wasn’t interested in re-joining the band. He was rich enough already having “invented MTV” and his mother “having invented Tippex” or something. So there were only 3 of them (plus band) touring on and off for perhaps the next 5 years. I’d find it difficult to choose the best live concert I ever saw. Either The Monkees or Iggy Pop !!

  5. Dave White Says:

    I suspected that it had something to do with Michael Nesmith.

    I recently got hold of a whole bunch of Nesmith reissues from Edsel Records: From A Radio Engine and Infinite Rider on one disc, The Prison, The Garden, Tropical Campfires, Live At The Britt Festival, Pacific Arts, and Wichita Train Whistle/Timerider, all for review in Rock’n’Reel 12. It was like Christmas come early.

    I loved The Monkees TV show and, naturally, collected all the bubblegum cards of the time. Didn’t the cards’ reverse fit together into a big colour jigsaw-style poster? Peter Tork was my favourite Monkee because he was the wacky one. Great songs, of course.

  6. themagicrobot Says:

    Yes I think Nesmith may have “invented country-rock” too if you don’t count Gram Parsons and a million other people.
    Rhino Records have treated the Monkee back catalogue well with Deluxe 2 CD versions of the early Monkee LPs full of fascinating alternate titles of songs like “Alternate Title”.


Comments are closed.