Liquidator

Aug 1, 2018

Most people over a certain age are familiar with the tune “Liquidator”, the reggae instrumental recorded by the Harry J All Stars in 1969 even if they don’t know its title. The basis of the tune appears to have been borrowed from the backing of an earlier song Tony Scott’s “What am I to do?” along with a smattering of Alton Ellis’ “Girl I’ve got a date” for good measure.

A number of Football clubs were quick to adopt this fab instrumental. Chelsea, Wycombe Wanderers, Northampton Town, Wolverhampton Wanderers, West Bromwich Albion, Yeovil Town and St.Johnstone all claim to be the first to use it. When I lived in Wolverhampton in the 1970s at the old Molineux Stadium it was played every home match with the crowd cheerfully clapping along. I was saddened when it was discontinued as apparently the West Midlands Police claimed it “promoted football hooliganism” ?!? I believe Chelsea still play it as the team go onto the pitch.

Liquidator