The Fugs are off

Mar 12, 2010

I’ve just purchased the Final Fugs CD part 2. Lets hope its not though. If it’s half as good as their last “final” CD it will still be good indeed. The Final Fugs CD part 1 was released in 2003 and is a joy and a pleasure from beginning to end. As usual it mixes political comment with humour (dig Tuli’s “Why must I be a Septuagenarian in love?” which is his appropriate version of “Why must I be a teenager in love?”).

The Fugs have been performing (on and off) since 1965. The two main singers and songwriters of the Fugs are Ed Sanders and Tuli Kupferberg. Tuli is probably the last of the “Beat Poets”. He harks back to an era even pre the swinging sixties underground period of the first incarnation of The Fugs. However throughout the last 60 years he has always remained contemporary. Although now not in the best of health he has embraced the internet and even has his own spot on YouTube (Search for” Tulifuli”). There you will find a few hundred (!!!) of Tuli’s short videos with music or his unique “proverbs/quotes of the day” which he actually calls his “perverbs”. Fascinating.

Much is explained here.

PS: I found this passage in a book. I’ve no idea if its true or not but it sounds feasible….
I asked Tuli Kupferberg once, “Did you really jump off The Manhattan Bridge?” “Yeah,” he said, “I really did.” “How come?” I said. “I thought that I had lost the ability to love,” Tuli said. “So I figured I might as well be dead. So I went one night to the top of The Manhattan Bridge and, after a few minutes, I jumped off.” “That’s amazing” I said. “Yeah,” Tuli said, “but nothing happened. I landed in the water and I wasn’t dead. So I swam ashore and went home and took a bath and went to bed. Nobody even noticed!!”