Video Home System

Aug 1, 2016

DVD VCR

Last week Sony manufactured their final VHS Video Recorder. Surprised they lasted this long? Well, you can still buy record players and cassette tape recorders…… Anyway, I reminded myself that I own a brand new unused VHS recorder that I purchased at least eight years ago. It is a dual machine also containing a DVD recorder. The plan was to copy some favourite tapes to disc. That never happened. Most of my tapes were happily consigned to the skip many years ago. Nevertheless, I’ve set the machine up, and very impressive it is too. With the ability to play tapes, DVDs, CDs, VCD, DVD+R/RW, DVD-R/RW, DVD+R, MP3, WMA audio formats and JPEG digital images along with a hard drive and built in Freeview I can’t believe I waited this long to use it. I’m even tempted to junk the Skybox and save £68 per month …..that’s an eye-watering £816 per year. I’ve even found a box labelled “Video Tapes”. Alas the majority are the smaller, different format Beta ones. Perhaps it’s time to get the Beta top loader out of the loft and go for the full retro experience.